Waiting on Wednesday – Week 157

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It’s to spotlight upcoming releases I’m DYING to get my hands on!

This week’s WoW is:
How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

July 26, 2016 ● Goodreads

I’ve never been to Salem despite studying in Boston, but I know people who go every year for Halloween. I seriously need to go there one day...anyway, back to the point. I can’t wait for this one! It sounds like a really cool paranormal contemporary meets historical young adult fiction type of story. Even more of a reason to go to Salem, hehe.

What are you waiting on?


  1. Great pick! I've seen this around GR lately. I love the Salem Witch Trials plots.
    My WoW

  2. Interesting. I hope it delivers.

    Happy 2016!

  3. Hmm, I've not heard of this book before! It looks interesting - omg July?! That's forever from now! I hope you get the chance to read this book sooner rather than later! :)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  4. Ooh, this book sounds pretty good! I'm doing a research project on the Salem witch trials at school so it might be fun to pick this one up :) Thanks for sharing!

    My WoW

    Zareena @ The Slanted Bookshelf


Thank you for taking the time to comment! I'll try to visit your blog (if you have one) and comment back!